Love Shack

16 Sep

Ok, so since this blog is meant to be about our little house I suppose it’s only fair that I share it with you.  You’ve caught me at a good time actually, since we haven’t done a lot to it yet!

Here’s the background… I’ve always wanted to own a house and I started my search from quite a young age (I probably first thought about it when I was about 22).  Anyway, after convincing myself that I could afford it by myself I spoke to a mortgage broker.  Basically I found out that with the loan I had for my car at the time there really was no way I could afford it (reality check!).  Then, later down the line I met Matt.  We’d been dating for a while and I bought up the idea of buying a house.  Not that he’s commitment-phobe or anything but he really didn’t want to.  In the end (you’ll learn this about me), I somehow twisted his arm and I got what I wanted!

We found a lovely little 3 bedroom house, on the flat and with sun in Karori (un heard of, I know!).  I’m absolutely stoked with our place and look forward to my weekends pottering around doing the gardens etc.  So although I love it, it’s fair to say it’s not the prettiest thing around… somewhere down the line, someone decided it was a good idea to pop some brown aluminum windows in this lovely little 1939 house, and even better paint the window sills blue… nice!

So… here’s a few shots of how things were when we bought it…

Marshall Street Sold

From the road

Out the back (before we got the keys... not all our crap!)

Out the back (before we got the keys... not all our crap!)

Out the back... with creek!!

Out the back... with creek (and creep!!)

Oh yeah, did I fail to mention we have a creek in our back yard?.. sweet huh!!  So it was one large section, which has been split in two.  We’re in the original house and 2 town houses have been built on the back, with the creek running between us… we love it!

Anyway, now you know a bit about my digs and what it looks like now.  Down the line I’ll give you a guided tour of the inside… lucky you!

Leave a Reply

