Hit the deck

17 Sep

Righto, so I figure it’s only natural to pick up where I left off… that way I can get up to speed on where we’re at and I can start blogging instead of writing diary entries (yawn, I know!)

So… Last summer we decided we were ready to undertake our first real project on our place, I was going for a new bathroom and Matt was angling for a deck out the back, an exterior ‘man cave’  if you will. I think you can tell from the title who won that one!

We’ve got a few friends who are tradies so we asked around and ended up having a friend of a friend who was available pre-xmas to knock up a deck for us. This was awesome, considering Matt thought he might be able to do it (OK so he’s pretty handy around the place but not that handy!)

Matt and I decided we wanted lights in the deck and set out shopping. We ended up getting some great help and service from the folks at Lighting Direct on Thorndon Quay. We ended up buying up large with not only deck lights, but a couple of spot landscape lights to pop in the garden and another couple of spots to light up the creek at night, it’s safe to say it looks pretty sweet!!

Here’s a few photos of it both during the day and night… And because I can’t figure out how to put text below the images today I’m going to finish up now.  So there!

Ta Da!!

Ta Da!!

Built in seat

Built in seat

Back stairs

Back stairs

Lights down into the creek

Lights down into the creek

By night...

By night...

By night...

By night...

Leave a Reply

