The Fruits of my Labour – Part 1

19 Apr

Ok, first things first – let’s not ignore the massive elephant in the room… I haven’t blogged since Christmas and it’s now April.  Yes, very good – may we move on please?…

I’ve always been a keen gardener and with the kiwi dream of owning our own home now realised it was obvious what the next step was… my very own patch in which to attempt growing some veges – stoked!  It may have taken a couple of years but when Labour weekend was looming close I started at poor Matt to pretty please build me a vege garden, as all good gardeners know your tomatoes need to be in on Labour weekend and I didn’t want to be late for such an important garden date.

I’d already picked out the perfect spot… it is up against the house, gets all day sun and at the time looked horrible so what better than to rip it all out?

As most of the garden we were replacing was pretty unloved, it didn’t take long to rip it all up and whack up my lovely new raised vege bed.

We decided to not have it attached to the house, so if the time came where we no longer wanted it there, it wouldn’t be too bad to remove.  Together we put it up and proceeded to fill it with about 20 bags of compost.  The hardest part of the whole thing was deciding what to plant, but looking back I think we nailed it!  See for yourself…

Voila! (From left, Wild Strawberries, Corgette, Broccoli, Cherry Tomatoes, Lettuce, Herbs

 

Irrigation and all!

Part 2 coming (promise!)…

Leave a Reply

